Unexpected Point Cloud Visualization Issue After Exporting from CloudCompare CommandLine

Feel free to ask any question here
Post Reply
Mland
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2025 5:29 pm

Unexpected Point Cloud Visualization Issue After Exporting from CloudCompare CommandLine

Post by Mland »

I am facing a strange issue with a point cloud and CloudCompare. Let me explain with a simple example:

I have a point cloud, which I’ll call "input_cloud".
I perform a simple process in CloudCompare via command line: I load the file and then export it. The exported file becomes "output_cloud".
The problem:

When I display "output_cloud" in any software, it visually appears as if the cloud has been decimated or downsampled. It is no longer a dense point cloud but looks like a grid of points aligned vertically, with bands spaced 50 cm apart.
However, the total number of points in "input_cloud" and "output_cloud" is exactly the same, and the file sizes are almost identical.
I have tried several approaches:

I loaded "output_cloud" into RealWork, and the same issue is visible.
I tried with different clouds,
I modified my script to test other parameters (such as -MESH_CLOUDS and -CROP2D) or tried different import/export formats (e57, LAS, BIN), but the result is always the same.
I tested this with CloudCompare versions v2.14.alpha and v2.11.13, but nothing changed.
Has anyone encountered this problem before or has any idea how to resolve it? I’m open to any suggestions!

my script :
@echo off
setlocal

"C:\Program Files\CloudCompare\cloudcompare.exe" -O "statique.e57" -C_EXPORT_FMT E57 -SAVE_CLOUDS FILE "3sortie"

endlocal
Attachments
2025-01-12_20h51_25.png
2025-01-12_20h51_25.png (264.28 KiB) Viewed 2917 times
2025-01-12_20h50_14.png
2025-01-12_20h50_14.png (510.75 KiB) Viewed 2917 times
daniel
Site Admin
Posts: 7832
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 7:34 am
Location: Grenoble, France
Contact:

Re: Unexpected Point Cloud Visualization Issue After Exporting from CloudCompare CommandLine

Post by daniel »

Yes, that's the very classical 'Global shift' issue. While CloudCompare will warn the user of the Graphical Interface version profusely, it doesn't apply any global shift to large coordinates by default in the command line mode.

You have to use '-GLOBAL_SHIFT AUTO' just after '-O' at the very least. See the wiki: https://www.cloudcompare.org/doc/wiki/i ... _line_mode
Daniel, CloudCompare admin
Mland
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2025 5:29 pm

Re: Unexpected Point Cloud Visualization Issue After Exporting from CloudCompare CommandLine

Post by Mland »

It works. Thank you so much! You've just taken a huge weight off my shoulders. Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!+

For those who might be interested, here is the corrected version of my code:
"C:\Program Files\CloudCompare\cloudcompare.exe" -O -GLOBAL_SHIFT AUTO "input.e57" -C_EXPORT_FMT E57 -SAVE_CLOUDS FILE "output.e57"
Post Reply