Error when computing features

For any question related to the 3DMASC forum
Post Reply
sjurado
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2024 1:57 pm

Error when computing features

Post by sjurado »

Hello,

I've trained a classifier and I now want to classify (large) point clouds.
Before classifying, I'm computing the features with python using the following command : cc.q3dmasc(clouds, PARAMETERS_PATH + parameter_file, only_features=True, verbose=True)

It seems like the command can't compute the features. It doesn't show any error but it saves files with the following extensions (instead of .sbf):
extension sbf error.png
extension sbf error.png (10.19 KiB) Viewed 697 times

Do you have any recommendations on how to classify a large point clouds ?
Should I try to reduce as much as possible the number of parameters ?
Do I have to maybe subsampled the point cloud, classify the samples and then merge them back together ?

Thanks
daniel
Site Admin
Posts: 7682
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 7:34 am
Location: Grenoble, France
Contact:

Re: Error when computing features

Post by daniel »

Do you have the ability to test with the GUI version of the plugin first? It's unclear if it's related to the Python interface, or to the 3Dmasc plugin itself.
Especially since I'm pretty sure the authors use it on very large clouds.
Daniel, CloudCompare admin
paul.leroy
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2020 1:21 pm

Re: Error when computing features

Post by paul.leroy »

Cloud you provide your parameter file and your data, or at least a sample of it? I never saw such an error.

If you have strategies to try, I would say that you should try them to gain some experience. In terms of classification, practice is a good thing. Begin with a small subset of your data before letting the software work on a larger part of it.
sjurado
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2024 1:57 pm

Re: Error when computing features

Post by sjurado »

Hello,

I can't test it with the GUI because I'm using scikit to train my classifier (if I've understand right the plugin works with the OpenCV models).
I'm going to try switching to OpenCV as well to fix my issue.

I've tried using a smaller point cloud and using subset of data and it worked fine. I'll send you the parameter file and data in private.

I'll try other strategies and let you know !

Thanks for your help
paul.leroy
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2020 1:21 pm

Re: Error when computing features

Post by paul.leroy »

So the command can compute the features. Does it close this post?
sjurado
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2024 1:57 pm

Re: Error when computing features

Post by sjurado »

It does work on small samples but it still isn't working on bigger samples of data.
I'm now splitting and then merging the clouds. I found a way to deal with it but not to properly fix it.
I'm not planning on fixing this issue so I guess we can close this post.
Post Reply